Fighting Change


change

Change is hard. Change is uncomfortable. Change is exciting. Change is good. Change is necessary to grow. Change is scary. Change is…

However you choose to end that sentence will frame how well change goes for you. For everyone, change is one or all of these things. I envy those rare individuals that view change as nothing but an amazing opportunity. I fall squarely in the pool with those that think change can be all of the above mentioned things. Daily, I strive to be that person that embraces change with outstretched arms and wiggling fingers that beckon eagerly for bigger and better things. Unfortunately, self-doubt and hesitation sneak in and the fight is on! This isn’t true for all instances of change. Small things like a new haircut or exotic recipe; I can handle without much of a skirmish. Bigger things like career shakeup or sending the kids to sleep away camp for the first time set the stage for endless rounds in the ring with me, myself and I. It is true that neither of the last two examples are things to take lightly and that the first two examples are not earth shattering, but there is no doubt that there is room for getting more confident when considering change.

You are probably wondering why I feel the need to share this with anyone. It’s simple. As a personal trainer and a consultant for families who seek a healthier lifestyle, the “C” word is one that comes up and is met with any number of reactions. I see widening eyes, folded arms, eyes rolling way back, walls going up brick by brick and yet sometimes I see eagerness. I will address the eagerness in a minute, but the push back is what I want to hit first. The point is, change is hard for me too. You and I are in the same boat to some degree. Let’s move forward together.

I have clients that have ranged from the age of 10 to 82. Everyone comes to me from somewhere on the continuum of willingness to change. Anyone that comes to me on their own has made the conscious decision to change something. Anyone that comes “encouraged” by a loved one or as part of the family that has been signed up is usually less open to change initially. Regardless of which camp these clients originates from, changing behavior that has been a part of daily life is a hard pill to swallow.

It takes anywhere from one day to forever, to make a lasting change. Of course, my job would be much easier, streamlined and lucrative if I could get folks to make lasting changes for their health and wellness in one day. It doesn’t take forever, but it can feel like it if individuals pump the breaks on suggestions for reasons they can’t give me. One thing I always ask clients and frankly myself when I get resistance about a suggestion is, “Why not?” Some slick clients, not always children, say “Because.” After they are subjected to my lecture about needing to answer me in at least three words we usually get around to the real answers.” It’s hard. It’s different. I don’t’ want to”. Blah, blah, blah. I am not as insensitive as it may seem so hang on before you go log on and leave a scathing comment in the comment box. I am listening.

What I consistently hear entrenched in all the explanations of “why not” is simple. Everyone wants the results without the hard part. If it was easy, everyone would be doing it, I would be out of a job and we could all go home happy, healthy and not at all put out for the experience. The risks that accompany the suggestions I make are all a matter of thinking…thinking that you, the client, can do it. That’s it. That’s all. Go ahead. Try and come up with a reason why you won’t make a change required to benefit your health and wellness ( of course this comes after getting clearance from your doctor to begin any exercise program or diet change – just to make that clear). I’m waiting.

One of my favorite sayings is, “Get out of your own way!” You are the only one standing in the way of what you really want. You want better health, faster race times, longer distances, toned arms, strong legs, a longer life, a better life??? Quit coming up with reasons that don’t hold water. Quit saying you can’t. Quit saying you don’t want to change. If you want something else for yourself, you want change. So, CHANGE already! Some days will be harder than others, but if you keep pushing yourself and asking yourself what you really want, the change will be easier.

A quick word to those eager beavers that are all about making every change, all at once…I love it! It is not totally unheard of to be completely inspired to jump in with both feet and want to drag everyone in the pool with you. Think of how you feel on January 1st. Now think about how you feel on February 28th. Inspiration is a wonderful thing and I work very hard to provide inspiration. I also know we are starting a clock on how long said inspiration can last. Anyone can do anything for a short amount of time. The true success story is someone that can make a change that lasts. You significantly increase your chances of making a lasting change by easing into it. More is not always better. More is sometimes just more. So, taking baby steps and changing your lifestyle one change at a time is what I always recommend. Be inspired. Get motivated. This is a journey, not a race. To steal from Nike – “There is no finish line.”

I hope you can see yourself somewhere in this blog post. We are all a work in progress. Whatever the change you seek and however you feel about it, know that you are not alone. My wish is for all of you to realize that you deserve a life of health and that you have it within you to make those uncomfortable changes. If you need a little push or support, I’m here for you too. Email me at Toni@kuhelgirlfitness.com , check out my website at http://www.kuhelgirlfitness.com or find me on FB on my KuhelGirl Fitness, Inc. page.
Until next time…live well! -Toni Kuhel

One thought on “Fighting Change

Leave a Reply

