What a pain!


Ugh! Ow!!!! My tummy HURTS! As much as I know that I brought this belly ache on myself, it hurts no less. I have been pretty clean with my food…whole food, whole grain, lean protein, lots of fruits and veggies, adequate water…then came this weekend. Chicken wings with awesome neighbors(clearly my deadliest weakness) and being trapped in a sports complex where a chili bag (bag of Fritos, scoop of chili, and neon orange cheese sauce) seemed like a viable food choice at the time. My body has no idea what to do with this influx of fat, salt and other unidentifiable ingredients. My stomach, formerly iron clad, is now very used to eating what our bodies were made to eat. This is a sign. No matter how good you think it’s going to taste, crap (aka – junk food) is not good for a body. As uncomfortable as I am, I am grateful that this error is self-correcting. I’m not in a great hurry to feel like this any time soon. “Everything in moderation” is a good motto. Well, except for maybe a chili bag, which might have to go in the “never, ever again in life “category.
Sadly, this is not my only complaint of the post. Ouch! My foot hurts too. My hopes for injury-free training for the marathon came crashing down last week. I felt a little twinge in my left heel during my last long run. Morning came and the twinge graduated to an official pain. I’ve resisted the urge to run through the pain. You will be quite impressed when you realize that I would have been much more stupid in my younger days. As I creep towards the big 4-0, I know that ignoring pain and pushing myself past it, is rather counterproductive. I am itching to run as the Shamrock Shuffle is just around the corner. Although I feel like a slug waiting for this pain to resolve, I know this is the right thing to do. Waiting a little while to recover will pay off. I know I’ll risk lasting injury if I push my luck. For now, the sideline is a fine place for me.

So despite all the aches and pains of the last week, I find I’ve learned a lot. I know it doesn’t seem as though I’m all that healthy at the moment, but ultimately I’m making good choices. Do yourself a favor and learn from my experiences as well as your own. Enjoy your vices in moderation lest your healthy new you will revolt! Listen to your body and rest it when you get injured. I’m hoping for a better couple of weeks for me and of course for all of you as well.
Until next time…Live Well! – Toni Kuhel

3 thoughts on “What a pain!

    • You are right Jim – Rest Ice Compression Elevate – Now how exactly am I gonna do that at work? Guess doing that when I’m at home is going to have to be enough for now. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

