Get going toward your goal!


After a few days of not being able to carve out the time or dig deep enough to find the motivation, I did it.  I laced up my shoes, put on my new running hat and gloves and hit the road.  One of the last few days was supposed to be my long run of the week.  I’m sure most of you can relate with my attack of procrastination. Can I get an “AMEN!”?  When you are lacking motivation, everything becomes an obstacle. Let’s face it, when motivation is MIA, there doesn’t really need to be a reason NOT to do what needs doing.  So when we find ourselves unmotivated, where do we turn for motivation?

For me, last week’s long run didn’t happen until today, which is technically a new week.  I’m a bit ticked that I let the week go by, but I’m thankful I found the gumption to get on with it today.  I could spend the rest of the day beating myself up for coming up short on my weekly mileage but I won’t. It’s not going to help me.  As I sit here post long run, I’m analyzing why I kept putting off this run.  Was it my work schedule, the pile of impossible laundry, my very needy daughter, my boys’ wrestling schedule, my husband’s workload, the weather, the time of day? What? WHAT????  If I’m being honest, I was a bit afraid that I wouldn’t be able to complete the run.  I had predetermined that 4.5 miles was the goal.  My runs during the week were 2 to 3 mile intervals on the treadmill and not so much fun.  It’s also cold outside.  Freezing cold.  I had built this long run up in my mind to be a big, giant, huge monster and I ended up getting in my own way.  Today registration for the Chicago Marathon opened.  If I was going to be afraid of a little 4.5 mile cold run, how was I going to even entertain the idea of completing 26.2 miles of who knows what kind of weather in October (it could be 30 to 85 degrees)?

This morning I decided to just do it. It’s winter, so waiting for nice weather is just plain futile so today was going to be as good as any other.  I finally got out of my own way.  The run was amazing. I feel great having done what I had been putting off for days.  It wasn’t so bad and I’ll have to remember that as my long runs continue to get longer.

You are going to have to set your weekly goal. Is it adding more produce to one meal each day …2000 calories burned on your heart rate monitor/week… 3 days of strength training/week….walking 15 minutes for 4 days/week …2 yoga classes and a Pliates class/week…drinking 6-8 glasses of water a day?  What is your goal?  Make it measurable and that makes it infinitely easier to track if you are meeting your goal.  It also helps you know when it’s time to bump up your goal or add another one.  I challenge you to get out of your own way.  Dismiss obstacles and don’t create bigger ones. Whatever your goal, it is worth reaching.  It is a change in the way you are currently doing things and change can be uncomfortable.  Chances are, the change won’t be as bad as you are making it out to be in your mind.  You can do it.  The best motivation is the kind that comes from within.  Dig deep. Refocus. Recommit.  Motivation can come from others in your life.  Make sure you find someone who is in your corner.  My corner is occupied by Team 40/10 and they are my collective rock and hold me accountable.  I have to fess up that my long run leaked into this week’s workout.  I have to suffer the consequences of the occasional  tsk, tsk, tsk, but I also know that they have been in my shoes as well.

Now that the manic energy of the New Year’s resolution frenzy has worn off, it’s time to get down to business.  Set your measurable goal, get out of your own way, get motivated and get going!!! You will falter along the way, but the true test will come when you decide what to do after a wobble.  Get up, brush yourself off and put on those running shoes, pick up that salad fork, grab that glass of water, examine that exercise class schedule and start again. It’s a new week so…..

Until next time….Live Well! – Toni Kuhel

4 thoughts on “Get going toward your goal!

  1. It is all about baby steps and not beating yourself up. Keep in mind these are the runs that will help build your base so when it does come time for the “official” training to start, you will be one step ahead of the rest.

    There is one famous running qutoe that I like to use and it comes from John Bingham aka The Penguin.
    “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

Leave a Reply

