Change is good


My schedule is about to change again.  It’s all for the better, but it’s going to cause some commotion for a while.  Life changes our circumstances and we have to change too.  It’s not ideal, but it’s also not impossible.  There is always a way to fit in health and wellness IF this is what we choose.  As a parent, I’ve always put my family’s best interest first.  I’m going to assume that this is the case for most parents.  What I also hear and see is that many parents think this involves putting themselves last.  I am not going to say that I’ve never gotten a pedicure while Alex takes the kids to wrestling or that I’ve never gone out with my girlfriends instead of going on a date night with my hubby.  I have done those things, but this is a part of putting my family’s best interest first.  You can’t treat yourself as a second class citizen and expect to feel good about yourself.  When you feel less than good about yourself, you are little to no good for your family or anyone else around you.

So this change in schedule is going to give me less time. Those of you who have no time already are saying “Join the club Lady!”.   This change now requires a bit more creativity and commitment to flexibility with my time.  I am going to have to join the ranks of those who get up before the sun in order to get my work out for the day.  This strikes fear into the heart of this self proclaimed “opposite of a morning person”.  I just can’t really get going in the morning without a cup of coffee. I like to wake up slowly rather than waiting til the last possible moment which requires a dash into the shower.  Change is good. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Santa Claus is real. These are all things I have to tell myself to get through moments of change like this.   So here I go….

1)      Start getting up early to get to the gym or run before hitting the road.

2)      If I can’t get in my workout before work, I will get it in after dinner.

3)      Pack healthy snacks and meals.

4)      Bring reusable water bottle to refill all day long.

5)      Plan for dinner so we are not the size of walruses after months of this change in my schedule.

6)      Take one evening a week for “me time”

7)      Take one evening a week for  time with my husband

8)      Take every moment I can take with my kids.

9)      Listen to good music

10)   Watch funny TV or movies

11)   Go to bed early enough to get quality sleep.

12)   Let the house be a bit messy if it means more quality time with my family.

At the moment I’m fraying around the edges because I’m over tired.  I know I haven’t been taking care of myself. Mostly I haven’t gotten enough rest and clearly this is not agreeing with me. So there is my list of things to do to cope with all the change.  Wish me luck. If your schedule is the reason you haven’t been taking care of yourself, make your own “to do” list.  Writing it all down is a powerful exercise. It writes it into your brain and helps you make that commitment to yourself that much more concrete. You are worth it. Your family and friends think you are worth it.  I’m getting ready for Monday which is coming in a hurry.  I’m starting with number 11 so I can tackle number 1.  What number are you starting with on your list?

Until next time… Live Well!-Toni Kuhel

3 thoughts on “Change is good

  1. If you’re not a morning person, remember that when you’re getting up while it’s still dark, you are really only getting up at night. 🙂

  2. Today will be a challenge for me to get my needed workout in. Had some continuing education stuff I had to do while kids at pre-school. Hate to pawn them off on the childcare at the gym in addition to school…hopefully it will all balance out today.

Leave a Reply

