Is it day or night?


day and nightIs it day or night?

Daylight savings time. What an interesting concept.  About once every few years I’ll forget to “fall back” and then I’m late for something. Thankfully, this year I didn’t forget and I also made no time-sensitive plans for the next morning.  I highly suggest this strategy as I had no stress. But then Monday arrived. It is BLACK outside. For lots of us our days will now begin with BLACK when leaving the house and end with BLACK before returning.  If you are lucky enough to live where this is not the case, keep the gloating to yourself.  The rest of us are not happy with this annual happening and unhappy can quickly turn to angry if taunted sufficiently.  You’ve been warned…  The week after Halloween is always so jarring with the ever present blackness.  It’s easy to spiral down emotionally into the darkness when the days seem to string together like one long night.  So what are we going to do about this?  We are staring at several months of this so “deal with it” seems unhelpful.

  • Listening to upbeat music during your commute or while you are getting ready for the day might make facing the dark morning a bit easier.
  • Make every effort to walk outside when the sun finally rises.  If you can carve out some time to view the sun it will help.
  • If you can’t walk outside, try spending time in an area with lots of windows. Natural light, even if it is grey, will do wonders.
  • Change your screen saver to a sunny beach scene or sunrise over the water.  You might also use a favorite picture from your summer adventures. It’ll get you day dreaming a bit, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing.
  • Now’s the time for comfort food, but make every effort to make it healthy.  I’ll have future tips on some possible swaps that you won’t even notice.   No need to start hibernating and adding to the winter layer of fat that we all seem to hide under those gaudy holiday sweaters.
  • Get your exercise in as often as you can.   This is so important because activity releases all kinds of “feel good” chemicals in your brain. I need as many of these as possible. Do you?

Clearly these are just a few ideas. I’d love to hear what you all do to chase away the winter blues.  Don’t gasp.  You know as well as I do that autumn goes by in a flash and seems to be over in about 4 minutes.  Might as well start thinking about how we are going to survive the grey skies till the bright blue sunshiny days return in a few long months.   Enjoy the precious few days we have left of fall.  Fortunately along with the colder weather and whipping winds come the holidays we look forward to all year.  So while you are busy getting ready for said holidays, make sure you do all that you can to keep a sunny disposition in the midst of all the BLACK.

Until next time… Live Well!- Toni Kuhel

5 thoughts on “Is it day or night?

  1. I happen to enjoy the winter months and much that is associated with it. The lack of available light compared to other times of year is one of the least favorite for me. However, there is an upside, along with the pointers Toni gives, I would suggest making some efforts to bundle up as necessary, and go out stargazing. More night hours and crisp winter nights make for excellent opportunities in that regard. There are constellations that are only visible this half of the year, and there are also the Quadrantid meteor showers in early January that often produce quite good trails of multiple colors.

    Then there are the snowball fights, and the way a freshly fallen snow makes the world seem more peaceful…

    And if that doesn’t cheer you up, just try to remember, that after the winter solstice (just before Christmas), the days actually begin getting longer. 🙂

  2. This James guy sure writes well. He almost makes me miss winter! Great suggestions from both him and Toni for coping with those long, cold months. Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas!

  3. James thanks for turning me on to Toni’s blog!

    Every year when the days grow short I struggle with staying awake in the evening. Seriously in the evening it’s like I have been given a sedative and I fall in to a sleep stupor and I can’t wake up. What’s with that? I feel like MaMa Bear. Does anyone else have trouble staying awake?

    Ah yes and then tis the season for depression and boredom. I am determined to beat it this year. No antidepressants to help me through. They help the blues disappear but so does my ambition. As it stands I am unemployed and looking for work. I need my edge.

    Do you know of winter constellation guides that are easy for beginners?

    Yesterday I planted 12 large early blooming crocuses just outside my patio door! Hope springs eternal! I love that double entendre!

    Every day I am committed to walking the dog in sunlight and spending the last hour before sunset cleaning up and mulching in the yard.

    Here’s to success fighting off these pre-Solstice seasonal blues!
    (And by the way Toni. Love the receipes. Think I’ll make the apple crumble tonight!)

Leave a Reply

