“Mom…I don’t feel good”


“Mom…I don’t feel good”sick

Last night, my daughter Renee spiked a fever.  Da da daaaa. We are waiting for the other shoe to drop. Is it a cold..a fever…swine flu – uh I mean Novel  H1N1…bird flu…plain old flu?  Will everyone get it?  Knock on wood.  Alex and I have not gotten really sick in the recent past.  I’m hoping I didn’t jinx it, but we’ve been very lucky.  So now our focus is getting Renee well and keeping the rest of us well.

We are doing all the things that all the talking heads on TV are telling us to do:

  • Washing hands often – especially when coming in the house from being at school, store, outside etc.  Reports from my seeing eyes at school say that my kids are very good at using hand sanitizer, perhaps a bit too good.  I guess it could be worse.
  • Coughing into elbows – we are forgoing the use of face masks because they are just creepy.
  • Keeping hands away from our  noses, mouths, eyes – faces in general
  • Lysol everything – especially door knobs, faucets, phones, remote controls

Alex and I are keeping active.  Alex hit the gym before work today and I will get my workout in later on- I swear!  We are pushing more water than usual and eating comfort food. I know that you can’t catch a cold from being cold, but we make sure we are cozy when we head out.  It might be an old wives’ tale and we probably won’t “catch your death of cold”, but it seems like a good idea not to tempt fate.  I am not sharing our decision on if we are or aren’t getting flu shots. That is something that every family should decide on their own, and I am not interested in getting into the whole debate with all of you J

Renee woke up with no fever so maybe we dodged a bullet this time.  Fingers crossed that we will be fortunate enough this season to have the sickness cloud pass quickly over our household.  I know many of you are suffering this flu season already. I wish a quick recovery for you and your families.  This living well thing sure is tough when you are busy being sick. As this long flu season continues, I hope you all continue with your healthy choices. Eating right, moving right, and thinking right might just be what shortens your sickness or keeps you from getting sick in the first place.

Until next time…Live Well! – Toni Kuhel

One thought on ““Mom…I don’t feel good”

  1. I know you’ve probably heard the warning, “Don’t get the nasal vaccine because it’s live, and live sera don’t protect as well as the shots.” Since there’s a shortage everywhere, the choice may be moot anyhow. Dylan got the shot due to his history of asthma, none for Jenna. Whatever you decide, (I’m hoping to get a shot due to being a caregiver), just stay healthy. Looks like you’re doing all the right things. I’ve also heard we should be gargling salt water and using saline nasal sprays. Who knows? You live well, too!

Leave a Reply

