Maaaaaaaaa! What’s to eat?


I'm Hungry!

We have all done it. Some of us are still doing it. I did it this weekend.  I loaded my plate with a not so keen eye for balance.  I’m not going to spend time loathing myself because I did it. It was delicious. I didn’t go bananas every meal, every day this weekend. It was just a lapse in judgment as I was busy living life. I’m thinking you are familiar with that concept as well.  Most days I shoot for every meal to be balanced.

1/2 of  your plate loaded with produce – fruits/veggies – think lots of colors

1/4 of  your plate whole grain – bread with at least 3 grams fiber per serving, brown rice, couscous, whole grain pasta again with at least 3 grams of fiber per serving

1/4 of your plate with a lean protein – baked, grilled, roasted,poached/skinless chicken/ fish/lean pork/lean beef/turkey/beans.

Use a “good fat” like olive oil to prepare your dish 0r dress your veggies. Don’t drown it – just douse it. I like to add a reasonable amount of cheese when it’s called for. I’ll use some low-fat cheese if I need to use more (mozzarella,cheddar) . I’ll use regular cheese when I can use just a smidge because it’s so flavorful (blue cheese, romano, parmesan, sharp cheddar and feta).

Since I’m sure I’m not the only one that’s heard the eternal question of  “Maaaaa! What’s to eat?”  I’m going to describe a couple of ideas I have for each meal. You’ll see that balanced is delicious, satisfying, and something to look forward to.

Breakfast – with coffee and water

1)build this in a bowl in this order -1/3 cup high protein/ high fiber cereal, ½ low fat Greek yogurt,  1 cup fresh fruit (berries, pineapple),  2TBS sliced almonds/walnut pieces, squirt of honey on top.fruit and yogurt

2)1 hard boiled egg / 1 slice whole wheat toast with a bit of Smart Balance/,banana or apples with natural peanut butter /glass of skim milk

egg

Lunch – with water

1)      ½ sandwich – whole grain bread, roasted chicken/turkey breast, spinach, 1 slice of Swiss cheese, spicy mustard/1 cup of broth based soup loaded with veggies/ an orange or an apple.

2)      Whole grain pita stuffed with grilled chicken breast, hummus, tomatoes, cucumbers, sprouts/ Sun Chips/ pear or banana.

hummus pita sandwich

Dinner – with water

1)      BBQ Turkey meatloaf/ sweet potato fries/ spinach salad

meat loaf

2)      Marinated grilled chicken breast, roasted broccoli, whole grain pasta with Smart Balance and parmesan cheese for sprinkling.

roasted broccoli

These are just a couple of Kuhel family meals. From time to time I’ll post some other menu ideas. I’d love to hear yours.  Check back every so often as I will add recipes for the BBQ Turkey Meatloaf, roasted broccoli and others soon.

Most days we are successful in partaking in a balanced diet. Some days are smattered with hot dogs, pizza and enough dessert to put one in sugar induced coma.  We are glad to say that those indulgent days are few and far between.   On days like that I know that we feel a touch.. how do I say this delicately?….a bit… gurgley .  We’ll just leave it at that. This is NOT a good feeling for anyone so we avoid this as much as we can. There are occasions when you just can’t dodge those kinds of meals.  We take comfort knowing that most days we are healthy eaters and that perfection is over rated.  Strive for balance, forgive yourself for unbalanced days, have a more balanced day tomorrow.

Until next time…Live Well!  – Toni Kuhel.

One thought on “Maaaaaaaaa! What’s to eat?

  1. Wow! This is a really impressive display! Great menu ideas, complete with pictures–who could ask for anything more useful, simple, as well as entertaining. You continue to amaze me, Toni.

Leave a Reply

